What you let go of, that is truly yours, will return to you x10.

We were saying how hard it is to keep hanging on to a relationship, a job, a home, that is no longer working for you.

I did that, mainly because there was nothing else and nowhere to go, that kept me hanging on in.

Over and over.

It was familiar.

It was habit.

It was always just there.

Then one day it all came crashing down around me.

I kept hanging on as I saw one thing after another go wrong.

Eventually I could hold on no more and me and my one-man freelance copywriting business went bankrupt.

At the last minute I could hold on no more and became resigned to my fate.

I found myself late one autumn afternoon in the Official Receiver’s Office in the heart of the city facing the music.

They were taking everything away from me.

Officially.

I lost my business, my marriage, my savings, credit cards, flat in a leafy bayside suburb of Melbourne and soon, my car.

Everything I still owned, everything I had saved from the drastic downsizing, was crammed into the car I was driving to get me out of town and into a whole new life.

A way of learning to live with nothing.

A life living in an old caravan parked by the roadside outside a friend’s home in the Australian bush.

My old familiar life, the real me, was being left behind in that office that afternoon.

I walked out, bankrupt.

And here’s the cruncher.

It was the best thing that could have happened.

I began a new life.

Some amazing things happened.

While, in time, what was important to me returned to me in time.

There’s a saying:

“What you let go of, that is truly yours, will return to you tenfold.”

And that is exactly what happened.

Now, here I am writing to you in a life that far exceeds my previous one.

Maybe, tenfold.

Sometimes letting go can be hard to do.

It can also be the best thing to do.

The right thing to do, for everyone.

I get it.

You can read about what happened in my book.

Best wishes

aussieblogger
thelifechangingblog.com

Leave a comment